Developing the legal management profession and the professional expertise for our Members


History of the ALA Columbus Chapter

The Columbus, Ohio chapter of ALA, formed as the Capital City Chapter, was chartered on November 7, 1972. Similar to the international organization's beginnings, attendance at the first meetings was small and informal. These meetings usually were held at the various law firms on a rotating basis. It is a credit to those early leaders that they had the foresight to recognize the value of this type of association.

Since that time, the Columbus Chapter (as it is now known) has also grown not only in terms of numbers but in the services it provides to its members. Monthly lunch meetings dealing with a wide range of issues related to the management and delivery of legal services are only the beginning. The chapter also conducts an annual salary survey, a bi-annual equipment survey and provides the opportunity for members to participate in telephone seminars.

The Columbus Chapter has been fortunate to have had outstanding leaders throughout its 45 year history. Perhaps one of the best examples of that leadership was the Regional Conference it hosted in 1991. This two-day conference featured a computer track with "hands on" training, something unique for a conference this size. The conference was an educational and financial success thanks to the teamwork and leadership of the chapter.

The Columbus Chapter is part of Region 3, which includes Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Ohio, West Virginia and Wisconsin.

Thanks to Columbus Chapter member Steve Odum for contributing the chapter history.


2016-17 Jennifer Rosengrant   1993-94 Steve Odum
2015-16 Kelly Atkinson   1992-93 Marty Eisenbarth
2014-15 Sara Leech   1991-92 Sue Warden
2013-14 Janie Jude-Askew   1990-91 Lois Griffith
2012-13 Beth Hoeft   1989-90 Roger Yeley
2011-12 Cara Tammaro   1988-89 LeAnn Miljus
2010-11 Paul Boyd   1987-88 Carol McAllister
2009-10 Laura Carpenter   1986-87 Miriam Parker
2008-09 Karen Scurlock   1985-86 Lynn Early
2007-08 Diane Cook   1984-85 Vivian Hunter
2006-07 Becky Von Ohlen   1983-84 Nora Ferguson
2005-06 Jack Green   1982-83 JoAnn Swaneck
2004-05 Paul Hamilton   1981-82 Charlie Mustard
2003-04 Janet Hannaway   1980-81 Lynn Butterfield
2002-03 Lori Muetzel   1979-80 Joan Leonard
2001-02 Randy Headley, CLM   1978-79 Larry Rogers
2000-01 Kit Murphy   1977-78 Phoebe Hauser
1999-00 Kathy Rosenberry   1976-77 Leo Kennedy
1998-99 Cindy Wesney   1975-76 Lynn Butterfield
1997-98 Rob Sander   1974-75 Jerry Phelps
1996-97 Ed Schultz   1973-74 Tom Flynn
1995-96 Dawn MacMinn   1972-73 Carol Livingston
1994-95 Ray Depler